A bit of a change…

A few changes are afoot at QP, so I thought I would explain a bit here…

Quilty Pleasures opened early 2010 in response to the lack of places to buy well designed, contemporary quilt fabric.  At that time, the UK quilt shops were still fairly traditional, and to buy exciting fabric you often had to look to the USA.

Outside View
Outside View

The timing was perfect for the current revival of interest in quilting, and fairly quickly I started being asked to run workshops for adults and children.  Word started to spread that I was available for talks, so I have travelled around the South East visiting quilt groups and WI’s.  I then started writing for magazines, which was followed by my book.

The Book!
The Book!

The last year has been quite a juggling act, trying to keep everything ticking along.  Running a shop, talks, writing, designing, commissions, selling online, teaching classes – and that is without being a cleaner, book keeper, merchandiser, marketeer…  However, when my son became very ill at the end of 2014 I felt something had to change – he is well again, but there is nothing like having a poorly child that makes you reappraise things.

So, decisions had to be made… and the decision has been made to close the bricks and mortar side of Quilty Pleasures, and this Thursday 19th March will be the last day we will be officially open as a shop.

Quilty Pleasures will continue as an ecommerce site, somewhere to buy my patterns and kits, a small but carefully selected range of good quality quilt supplies, and to book classes online.  I have been working on a separate website for what I call my freelance work; talks, designing and writing.

A massive thank you to the regulars from the last five years (it really has been that long).  Many of you come on workshops, so I am sure I will be seeing you again, and we hope to be at some events in and around Brighton.

So, I am rather excited about the next phase, and can’t wait to properly dust off the sketchbooks and have more time to create.

Liz Betts Sketch

This blog will be updated with website and event related news, and I have a new website,  www.betsybetts.co.uk which includes a blog of my design based work.

Liz
x

6 thoughts on “A bit of a change…

  1. Tina Talbot March 17, 2015 / 8:49 pm

    Good luck! Hope it goes well for you. I look forward to seeing you again somewhere. Thank you again for boosting my confidence.
    Best wishes
    Tina

    • quiltypleasures March 17, 2015 / 10:21 pm

      Thank you Tina – I am sure we will see each other again. Have fun free motion quilting! Liz x

  2. pennydog March 18, 2015 / 1:24 pm

    Oh that’s sad as well as happy- I guess bittersweet is the word… good luck in your new endeavours.

  3. Natalie Jones March 18, 2015 / 1:46 pm

    Wishing you the best of luck with the new side of your business! I’ll be sure to pop in next time I’m in Brighton.

  4. Rosalie March 18, 2015 / 9:08 pm

    Best wishes for your future ventures, losing your shop will leave a gap.

  5. Mrs Flying Blind March 20, 2015 / 8:21 pm

    Wishing you love and fun in your continued adventures xxx

Leave a Reply

