Sewgirl Quilt

When Fiona at Sewgirl asked if I would like to play around with some of her screen printed squares I jumped at the chance!  She quickly dispatched 3 sets…  

Exciting Post!
Exciting Post!

Here they are…nicely presented.

Panels just asking to be sewn!
Panels just asking to be sewn!

I decided to keep the fabrics toned down, not easy for a print addict like me, but I thought it was a way of respecting the screen printed squares.  I only used the pink and the blue packs, and matched plains to the prints.   I had in stock a pink bella solid that was perfect, and got a blue kona cotton from Brighton Sewing Centre.  For the third fabric I was umming and ahhing, and in the end went with a black and white Sketch from Timeless Treasures.  This is such a good blender!

I decided to sew an off centre log cabin.  The squares are the stars of the show so I just wanted to frame them, but I still wanted to make it quirky, so played around with scale and colour placement.  

Here is the top finished…

Finished Quilt Top
Finished Quilt Top

I then decided to hand quilt, with the trusty perle 8.  I used a pale grey, which shows on the solids, but blends into the background on the sketch.  

IMG_3056
Quilting

  

I decided to bind the quilt using the single fold lapped method and used a different colour for the sides and bottom.  

Cheeky Binding!
Cheeky Binding!

The combination of hand quilting and single fold binding has made the quilt feel really soft and light. It is interesting how different the method of quilting and binding can make a quilt feel.

…and here is the top finished and hanging in the studio.

IMG_3344 

If you like the look of the panels, Fiona sells them online here, and has some free patterns available to use them to make bunting, cushions, lavender bags and pockets.
I got the opportunity to interview Fiona earlier this year, so if you want to find out more about Sewgirl pop back to the blog later on this week…

 

Leave a Reply

