Recent QP Studio Quilts

Wow, how time flies!  Looking through my photos, I have realised there are quite a few quilts that I haven’t shared here recently.  So a little re-cap…

I have made several baby quilts for customers lately.  I get quite a few queries about quilts, but tend to refer any commission work larger than a baby/toddler/lap quilt onto other local quilters.  However, if I have the time, then I do like to make up smaller quilts for clients, especially when they have seen fabric online they want to use.

The first one used a couple of Posy charm packs to make a toddler size quilt.  I love the colours in this range.  The stipple quilting was done by Carolyn Clark, my local long arm quilter.

Posy Quilt
Posy Quilt

I like to use larger prints on the back, and this one from the range was perfect.  It features a girl reading, and I ordered it in as it reminded me of my daughter.  The binding is a co-ordinating mint green floral.

Posy - back
Posy – back

This quilt was commissioned for a baby boy by a customer who loved the Mod Century prints.

Grey/Green Quilt
Grey/Green Quilt

Again, using the big print on the back works well – makes it reversible.  Straight line quilting was requested, and I did it in a grey.

Mod Century Back
Mod Century Back

…and this one was for a customer who wanted a baby quilt for a girl, that wasn’t pink.  As with the grey/green one, she chose the backing fabric first, then matched the prints for the patchwork.

Pretty Floral Baby Quilt
Pretty Floral Baby Quilt

We chose a stripy binding on this one.

Yellow Stripy Binding
Yellow Stripy Binding

…and finally.  I was asked to design an appliqué cushion for a couple getting married.  The groom works within the mountain biking industry, so we came up with the idea of a tandem.  It is fusible appliqué, edged with a zig zag stitch in a toning thread.  I felt pressure to get the scale of the bike correct!

Mr and Mrs cushion
Mr and Mrs cushion

The photo has been taken before it was quilted, and their name at the bottom has been cropped off – I do like to respect privacy and all that, hence I also never show the stitched labels I put on.

So, I have been a little busy!

Hope you have enjoyed the photos. x

Leave a Reply

