Retro Sewing Sunday – If quilts could talk…

I am always pleased to find cuttings in secondhand books – they help tell you something of the person who owned them before.  Todays inspiration comes from a snippet found in a patchwork book I bought in my local Oxfam in Hove.

It is just the slip of paper below, and it is not dated so I do now know when it is from.  All the articles on the back refer to the Gardner Arts Centre, based in the grounds of Sussex University at Falmer, so I have assumed the exhibition was held there. It opened in 1969, and I remember going to see Christmas plays there as a child in the 1980’s, but unfortunately it closed in 2007.  A quick google on the names of the 3 people involved in the exhibition (Ron Simpson here and Jane Kasmin here)  makes me think the exhibition was probably between 1995 and 1999.  If you remember visiting it do let me know.

Anyway…onto the lovely quote.  One of the things I always try to stress in my classes is that the process is as important as the finished result – and the words in the cutting below express this in quite a powerful way.

Image

I wonder if the own of the book made it to the exhibition, or just kept it for the message.

(By the way, more info about Marguerite Ickis, the quilt historian referred to above can be found here.  She was born in 1897, and died in 1980 the year after she was inducted into the Quilters Hall of Fame.  This helps to date the quote to the 19th century)

One thought on “Retro Sewing Sunday – If quilts could talk…

  1. Gill July 9, 2013 / 6:32 am

    What a fascinating post – thanks.

Leave a Reply

