Retro Sewing Sunday – Victorian Adverts

I was given a really old sewing book a while ago, but unfortunately it doesn’t have a publication date in it.  I think it is from 1912, but will do a bit more research then post more details on here in a few weeks time.

In the meanwhile, I thought these two adverts inside it were rather fun…

I love the tag lines at the top of this advert, not sure who “otherwise” is?!  If you read down the page I think they are basically saying that absolutely anyone will like the magazine – a must have for girls.

Stichery Advert

This advert was at the back of the book.  I find the class distinction, slightly amusing, slightly disturbing.  So, working class girls, if you had a spare 6D to buy this, you wouldn’t find it helpful or interesting…

Sometimes I am so pleased times have changed!

Magazine Advert

One thought on “Retro Sewing Sunday – Victorian Adverts

  1. Flying Blind July 1, 2013 / 9:17 pm

    Ha ha ha – I am guessing The Queen is a magazine, not the Queen, as I am sure she has people to do her stitchery!

Leave a Reply

