Jelly Roll Jog in the Woods

One of my lovely regular customers popped in a couple of months ago with her jelly race quilt.  I had heard of them, but not seen on in the flesh and thought it was lovely.  After spending the summer on projects that had a deadline looming over them I fancied doing something quick, fast, instant!  The example I had seen had the strips joined straight, but I joined mine on a 45 degree angle.  I had a quick peek at the internet, and found this tutorial to be the best… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2bEJLnaZQOU  Then got sewing.  It was fast, but a little bit tedious.  Make sure there is something good on the radio while you sew the first looong seam.  My friend stitched one at the same time and tried to be fussier about the colour placement of strips, but the end result was similar, so don’t get too hung up on colour.

I was also impressed with the size it turns out – about 120cm by 140cm.  If you wanted a bigger quilt you could border it.

The jelly roll used was Walk in the Woods by Aneela Hoey.

Backed in red and white spot, with a strip of the Walk in the Woods mushrooms down the middle.

I used a clever little stitch on my horizon that gives a wave effect.

2 thoughts on “Jelly Roll Jog in the Woods

  1. cloudsfullofrain November 1, 2012 / 5:38 pm

    This quilt is so cute. The title of this post made me laugh. I like how the strips were joined at an angle. I plan on doing a jelly roll quilt soon.

  2. Eve November 2, 2012 / 2:00 pm

    Really nice quilt! love the quilting stitch you used. I Might try that on my new sewing machine!
    Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

