Off the sewing machine…

Just a reminder we are closed till Tuesday August 16th.  If  you need anything urgently I am on email.

Things have been a bit quiet on the blog as I have been so busy sewing – my machine has had sparks flying from it!

One of the things I have been making is a quilt for the Festival of Quilts, based on the theme “Romance of Words” 200 years since the publication of Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.  Here is my effort below.  Thankfully it is not judged or graded!  It uses Moda Bella Solids and Kona solids, with some of my treasureed Liberty stash – I the pinks were romantic.

A close up

Laid out on the table – it is a large quilt for me 70″ by 55″

another close up

and another

and a close up of the two tone  binding – half light pink and half dark

6 thoughts on “Off the sewing machine…

  1. Flying Blind August 5, 2011 / 8:15 pm

    Liz that is awesome!!!
    I love it all, the quilting looks brilliant – what a fantastic idea made into something absolutely wonderful x

    Have a FoQing good time x

    • quiltypleasures August 7, 2011 / 8:25 am

      Thank you! I will try and get a better photo of it hanging up there, after the show it is touring with the Creative Stitches show so i won’t see it for a while.

  2. terri August 5, 2011 / 10:10 pm

    Ay yay you finished it! Well done you – how gorgeous is that 🙂
    ……..and as FB says…….have a FOQing good time 😉 ha! love it.

  3. Sarah@PingsAndNeedles August 5, 2011 / 11:09 pm

    Liz this is wonderful! Please pop by my blog and say hello ! We should really get together and do something – Have fun at FOQ – I was going, but I’ve had to cancel … life … grrr … xx

    • quiltypleasures August 7, 2011 / 8:34 am

      Thanks for your comment, have found you on twitter! Love your Bletchley ideas, I only recently saw Enigma and was fascinated.

Leave a Reply

